Name Change time

So I have been updating some of my personal blogs to their own domains and I figured it was about time my little wow obsession got some of its own space.

I have been blogging about my wow adventures for a while now..in fact i think my anniversary is coming up..or just past…WOW would you look at that..Today in fact…my first blogging post.


That’s a little exciting and a little depressing that in all the time I have been blogging I still have under 10 followers and less than 8k hits in total 😦 Although I never blogged to attract attention, I did blog for myself so i could remember all the cool stuff I had done in game and all the dates I had won things or the people I had met. It is still a little depressing in the deep recesses of my soul, in places I don’t really like to talk about on here, that I don’t have battletag friends that I actually see online and talk to…infact I have 4 people that are never on at the same time as me…and the rest of the people I have requested to be friends with have ignored the request. I had hoped that blogging and being out there would help me find more friends with similar interests, but in truth I think I am failing at it…dismally…LOL

i thought getting out there, commenting, joining forums etc, would help me increase my networking in the blogosphere, but so far it has not paid off, and my interest tends to wax and wane because of it. I just wish I had a cool idea so people would be interested in what I have to say. I do appreciate every single person that visits and comments – I really do – you guys are what keep me going publicly. I am even considering just going private and disappearing from the blogosphere entirely because I can’t take the constant disappointment in myself and my blogging.

Anyway, I am getting off track….what was I talking about? Oh, right- name changes – so azerothianlife.com is taken as a domain, so I need to come up with a new name…and I suck at that. There is nothing on that site, but I can’t use it…and besides I wouldn’t want to use something similar as it will just get confused anyway.

Since I mainly blog about raiding, mounts and achievements and my toons, I though azerothianlife was a good cover for all of them…now I am lost.

GRAM (guilds, raiding, achievements, mounts)
Mounting Azeroth (giggle)
Collecting Azeroth (I like that one)

So I am going to have to come up with a list of names – as I have a great website design I want – which my hubby will have to make for me as it is a little complex…but it will look fantastic when done.

I shall contemplate my next move first because I really don’t want to get a whole website happening if I just go private. Did any of you get depressed about your blogging, how did you pick it back up? Do all blogs need something special to get people interested?

16 comments on “Name Change time

  1. The guiding principle I see on a lot of popular blogs is “if you have nothing to say, say nothing”. A once-a-day schedule is pointless if you’re, for instance, talking about how awful your enchants look on your daggers. /blush

    ‘Course, that principle has meant a lot of blogs going really quiet over the current doldrums, so yeah. Also, I don’t know what my stats are but they’re probably worse than yours, because I’m my own echo chamber and anything I write is for my own entertainment, including this. πŸ˜›

    Also, some people don’t follow any blogs because they like the feeling of opening a million and one links for their daily trawl. Just sayin’. πŸ˜€

    • There is nothing wrong with daily rambles πŸ™‚ I enjoy them the most in all honesty, I get to see people just being people.

      I have far too many emails, my hubby gives me shit, but I have over 40 subscriptions to blogs constantly making my phone bingle all the time….if only replying via email was easier and always possible :p

      Did you like any of the names I came up with? Lol

      • I’d go with GLAM – replace Raiding with Loot – because it lends itself to a specific identity and theme for the blog. Of course, whether you’d actually want to work within that theme is another problem. πŸ˜€

        • O.o fucking genius really!

          I didn’t even think of loot…the word I mean..it’s not what I think when raiding…I wonder if I could do a glam theme…

          With sparkles!

  2. First of all congrats on your blogiversary. I must admit I have a rather long reader list but I don’t necessarily subscribe to a lot of blogs because I prefer to access my posts that way. From there I can just go to the actual posts if I want to read more. I’m thinking a lot of people do the same for my blog too as I don’t have the number of followers that I had on the free wordpress version.

    People tend to find their own niche when it comes to blogging. I know what I like to blog about but there are also other bloggers out there that blog about the same things too. Don’t worry about that though. Just keep blogging about what you want to write – even if they are rants but it would be a shame if you went private.

    Not sure about a name but I’m sure you’ll find something that you like πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, I can’t believe it has been that long to be honest :p

      Your post was actually what got me thinking about how hard it is to even know if people are enjoying the crap we put out there πŸ™‚ so I blame you :p lol.

      I need to remember I blog for me, and if people enjoy it then even better, if they don’t, I can’t help them πŸ™‚

      Question, are you going to change your gravatar to your new chibi, or just leave it as is? Unless it hasn’t updated yet πŸ™‚

  3. Wouldn’t say depressed but I do sometimes wonder what the point is, but I just keep writing and promoting myself, cause you won’t get the readers if your not.

  4. I personally don’t worry all that much about WordPress ‘followers’ and all that jazz. I have 8 followers – and a couple of subscriptions – so far, which is cool, and I’m glad people like my blog, but I’m not worried about how many or few they are. (And I don’t ‘follow’ blogs myself – I just add the ones I like to my reader, and comment as I see fit.)

    I don’t get a lot of comments on my blog. In 2.5 months, I’ve gotten a grand total of 18 comments from people that don’t have my name. And according to my Google Reader stats, I have 7 total subscriptions there, and one of them is me (because I’m obsessive and I re-read my posts there as yet another way to check for grammar / spelling errors…). I’m definitely at the lower end of bloggers, as far as overall interactivity.

    However, having said that, I have been blessed to have made a couple of dozen new friends on Twitter (including you!), and there are several people – including in-game friends – who consistently check out my blog, and that’s so nice!

    The previous commenters have a great point – write for yourself. People (readers / fellow bloggers) enjoy that – that’s why we come here! Ultimately, that’s (writing for me) what got me back into WoW blogging, and it’s been awesome to do just that. The added interaction has been great, too, of course!

    All that being said, I understand and empathize with your frustrations. It’s hard to know if you’ve made any impact or brought any enjoyment to the world with a blog at times, but trust me – you have. πŸ™‚

    (As far as names – well, my blog has a rather generic name, so I have to abstain on that one!)

    • Well I feel so much better reading this comment Mushan πŸ™‚ I have always considered you a popular blogger, and you’re saying your stats suck as well…so YIPPEE!! LOL

      I think your second last paragraph sums it up, I really just want to know that someone is getting something out of the twaddle I write! even if it is a bad laugh.

  5. Congrats on the anniversary and hang in there! πŸ˜€

    I’ve a whole herd of blog names over the yearsβ€”most of the time I just sat down and played ‘free association,’ but for the more serious attempts I made a list of the topics the blog would cover and used those as a starting point.

    G.L.A.M. is catchy, but it makes me think more of a ‘mogging blog?

    Hmm, could you use My Azeorthian Life instead? The azerothianlife.com address looks to be empty, so even if folks typed it in wrong they’d figure out the mistake pretty quick.

    Or, hmm *digs out her sillymuse* Loot’capped? The Azerothian Connoisseur? Lifestyles of the Rich and Digital? MountCraft? Collect ALL the Pixels!, Azeroth’s Bucket List, Azeroth Walkabouts, Achievement Addicts Anonymous? πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks for the grats. Time flies when having fun so they say? heheh

      Yeah the site is empty, but I can’t buy the domain…and haven’t been able to for a little while, I am certain it wasn’t me that bought it though, so I figure someone has plans for it perhaps?

      “Collect ALL the pixels!” had me giggling I have to admit, I was thinking of so many lolcat pictures πŸ™‚ I shall keep plugging away at a name in the mean time…unles my domain becomes available!

      *glares at the interwebz meaningfully*

  6. Happy Anniversary.

    I know I don’t comment that much but I do read all your posts and would definitely be saddened if you decided to go private. I suspect worrying about readers/subscribers is an issue most bloggers face at some point, if not all the time so you’re definitely not alone there. I’ve been close to deleting my blog on many an occasion, stopped only by my husband’s threat to delete my Priests if I do it whilst emotional.

    As for a name, I support Leit’s suggestion of GLAM as long as your theme comes with lots and lots of sparkles.

    • I like the way your husbands mind works πŸ™‚ I think that’s the key isn’t it? We all have moments of “meh” and we need to just ignore them when they happen, which I am the first to admit is much easier said than done.

      I could do more sparkles than your eyes could handle, but I suspect it would drive away any new bloggers out there, and potentially perpetuate the ongoing myth that girl gamers are just loonies πŸ™‚ heehhe I wonder how it would with the theme I am designing in my head though…that’s the bigger issue πŸ˜›

  7. Count one more new reader πŸ˜€
    Stumbled across your blog thanks to a link on Navimie’s blog.
    Congratulations on your blogging anniversary!

    I’ve been reading WoW blogs for a couple months now and everytime I think ‘thats as big as my blog roll is going to get’, another link pops up and i’m adding another 5 blogs to my reader. Imagine how stoked I am to find one from someone on my server πŸ™‚
    Don’t disappear I only just found you lol.

    Stalker’ishness aside, here are some name ideas.

    Building on Leit’s GLAM, how about ‘Azerothian GLAM gossip’ (Still a little transmoggy sounding?)
    or Azerothian Daily, Citizen of Azeroth, Azerothian citizen, Azeroth in a blink, Azeroth exposed.

    I hope your not too discouraged and can keep on enjoying blogging.

    • AT!! go AT!! Thanks for the anniversary grats. I can’t believe it has been so long already πŸ˜€

      I like Glam gossip, it makes me think I need to get popular people issues and post about them. eheh which could be funny :p Thanks for the ideas though it has sprouted some more branches!

Leave a Reply

